Plays and Fridays

Next Friday, March 26, is our play. It is the first play written, directed, and choreographed entirly by students. When I tell you the kids have done everything for this I am not exagerating. Every bit of scheduling, organizing, finanance, buidling, decorating, advertising all came from the students.

Now I’m not sure if this thing is going to be a success or a train wreck yet, but the closer we get the less I care. I just keep thinking THE KIDS DID IT. Their days, nights, and weekends have been about this.  I couldn’t be prouder.

Tomorrow for Weird Friday we are going to be talking about Reverse Graffiti. My church, Circle of Hope, has been talking a lot resurrection during the lenten season. My cell too has been talking about the final line in Wendell Berry’s The Mad Farmer Liberation Front.  “Practice resurrection.” Without talking about “church stuff” I love talking to my kids about resurrection. Especially when it is related to their or my neighborhoods. Most times it’s as if they had never thought of actually taking ownership of where they live or where they go to school or play ball and making it better. Then again who does. Walking around my neighborhood it’s usually all I can think about. The more we talk about this the more I see shifts in my students. They say youth is wasted on the young, but really I think most of the time we don’t listen to the young and they don’t know what to do with their energy and ideas so they put their energy into doing what is expected (video games, creating negative mischief…)

There’s the bell. I apologize if this is too stream of conscience. I’m in the office with too much noise and too little time. Peace.

~ by captainawsome on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
